Google News
Current Affairs - 2019
Who has been conferred with the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2018?
Yohei Sasakawa
Ekal Abhiyan Trust
Vivekananda Kendra
Akshaya Patra Foundation

Correct Answer : Option (A) - Yohei Sasakawa

President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize for 2015, 16, 17 and 18 at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. The award comprises a cash award of one crore rupees, a citation in a scroll, a plaque and a traditional handicraft item. Japan's Yohei Sasakawa was conferred with the Gandhi Peace Prize for 2018 for his contribution in Leprosy Eradication in India and across the world. For 2015: Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari was given the award for its contribution in Rural Development, Education and Development of natural resources. For 2016: Jointly to Akshaya Patra Foundation for its contribution in providing mid-day meals to millions of children across India and Sulabh International for its contribution in improving the condition of sanitation in India and emancipation of manual scavengers. And For 2017: Ekal Abhiyan Trust for its contribution in providing Education for Rural and Tribal Children in remote areas pan India, Rural Empowerment, Gender, and Social Equality.

Published On : July 11, 2021