Google News
Current Affairs - 2019
Who was the recepient of Ashoka Chakra for year 2019?
Nazir Ahmad Wani
Mohan Goswami
Hangpan Dada
Jyoti Prakash Nirala

Correct Answer : Option (A) - Nazir Ahmad Wani

Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani has been posthumously awarded 'Ashok Chakra', India's highest peace time gallantry award for his role in a counter-insurgency operation in Kashmir in 2018. The award was presented by President Ram Nath Kovind to his wife Mrs. Mahajabeen at the 2019 Republic Day parade. Wani is the first Kashmiri to be conferred the Ashoka Chakra. He was also awarded Sena Medal for gallantry twice in 2007 and 2018 for his acts of valour. Wani was once a terrorist but had later turned in and joined the Army's 162 Infantry Battalion (Territorial Army) in Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry in 2004. A resident of Cheki Ashmuji of Kulgam district in J&K, he lost his life in a counter-terror operation 'Operation Batagund' against six terrorists in Hirapur village near Batgund in Shopian on 25th November 2018. Ashoka Chakra is the highest peacetime military decoration for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield.

Published On : July 11, 2021