Google News
Current Affairs - 2019
Who will chair the National Mission on Transformative Mobility and Battery Storage?
Amitabh Kant
Ajit Seth
Bibek Debroy
Hasmukh Adhia

Correct Answer : Option (A) - Amitabh Kant

The Union Cabinet has approved the National Mission on Transformative Mobility and Battery Storage to promote clean, connected, shared, sustainable and holistic mobility initiatives in the country. The multi-disciplinary mission with an Inter-Ministerial Steering Committee will be chaired by NITI Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant. The mission will also launch the Phased Manufacturing Programmes (PMP) for Batteries and for Electric Vehicle components. The PMPs will be valid for five years till 2024 to support setting up of a few large scale, export competitive integrated batteries and cell manufacturing Giga plants in India. The programme will provide a plan which will send a clear signal to the industry to make the necessary investments in capacity to localize the value chain. Hence, the creation of a PMP would localise production along the entire electric vehicles value chain. The mission will also coordinate with key stakeholders in ministries/ departments and states to integrate various initiatives to transform mobility in India.

Published On : July 11, 2021