Google News
Daily Current Affairs
Which countries have agreed to extend the Black Sea Grain Agreement by 120 days?
Ukraine and Russia
India and China
Turkey and Bangladesh
Pakistan and United States

Correct Answer :   Ukraine and Russia

Ukrainian Infrastructure Minister Oleksandr Kubrakov said on Thursday(17th Nov 2022) that the Black Sea grain deal between Ukraine and Russia will be extended for another 120 days.
He said continuing the grain export agreement brokered by Turkey with the UN was "another important step in the global fight against the food crisis."
Russia's Foreign Ministry also confirmed that the deal would be extended "without changes in terms of scope" to the current agreement.
Extension is 'good news for the world' :

* UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres welcomed the agreement "by all parties to continue the Black Sea Grain Initiative to facilitate the safe navigation of export of grain, foodstuffs and fertilizers from Ukraine."
* Guterres also emphasized the necessity to remove remaining obstacles to export food and fertilizer from Russia.  
* "Both agreements signed in Istanbul three months ago are essential to bring down the prices of food and fertilizer and avoid a global food crisis," Guterres said. 
* Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan praised the extension of the deal. "It has been clearly seen how important and beneficial this agreement is for the food supply and security of the world," he wrote on Twitter.
* Top European Union officials also welcomed the extension, with European Council President Charles Michel describing it as "good news for a wold that badly needs access to grain and fertilizers."
* European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said the breakthrough "helps avoid global food shortages and brings down prices despite Russia's war."..

Source : DW

Published On : November 19, 2022