Google News
Today General Knowledge(GK)
Who has been elected as the new Maharashtra Assembly Speaker in july 2022?
Avinash Jadhav
Ajit Pawar
Pramod Ratan Patil
Rahul Narwekar

Correct Answer : Option (D) - Rahul Narwekar

Days after Eknath Shinde took over as the chief minister and the BJP returned to power in the state, first-time BJP legislator "Rahul Narwekar" was elected as the Maharashtra Assembly Speaker on Sunday(3rd July 2022).
The election was held after the House proceedings began at 11 am. Narwekar garnered 164 votes in the Assembly.
He was fielded against Sena MLA and Uddhav Thackeray loyalist Rajan Salvi, who was the candidate of the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress combine for the Speaker's election.
Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis were among the other MLAs in the state Assembly who cast their votes.
However, the Samajwadi Party (SP) abstained from voting against BJP candidate Narwekar. Both its MLAs, Abu Azmi and Raees Shaikh kept sitting during the head count. AIMIM MLAs also abstained from voting..

Source : India Today

Published On : July 4, 2022
Category : Indian Polity